Return to 841218 - 8 Gallon Fermenter with drilled lid
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice fermenter and volume, but a bit too flexible October 6, 2018
Reviewer: Eric Johnson from Pittsford, NY United States  
I've brewed two 5 gallon (5.5 into fermenter) batches in this so far.  The volume makes it great for active fermentations and that is why I bought it.  The second batch was a barleywine pitched onto an existing yeast cake and had a 1-2 gallon krausen at peak which required no blow off tube in an 8 gallon container.  The only reason I'm dinging it a star is that it is a little too flexible.  When I picked up the container to elevate it before siphoning the first beer to secondary I watched in horror as the flexing of the container caused it to suck in air and liquid from my three part airlock.  That was never a problem with my buckets, but now that I know this will happen I'll just loosen the lid before picking it up in the future.  The handles on each side make it a lot more comfortable to pick up than a bucket.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Not a bad backup these guy's offer a decent price- March 31, 2014
Reviewer: Amanda Webb from Tolono, IL United States  
on the glass carboy's they sell.....             Used it once and then just said to myself '' I can't see the beer thats half the fun watching the yeast go'' the first or 2nd day then you can watch the trub build up its great but you can only see that in glass and plastic and when you siphon from glass or plastic you can make sure your not pumping in trub into your secondary or keg. get 2,a 6 gallon and a 5 gallon the 6 gives a decent amount of head space for the beginning fermentation and the five reduce air space when you transfer to the five as a secondary,,

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
very high quality March 12, 2014
Reviewer: Reinstone from IL United States  
These are really nice! The price is great for what you get.  

The top is not difficult to get to seal if you can just get it started.

Line up the lid and push down.  Give it a medium strike with something firm but not too hard.  I used the butt end of a screw driver.  You will notice the lid seats; then just follow the lid around applying pressure from your hand and it will seal very tightly.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
works great February 22, 2014
Reviewer: Patrick Bettenberg from Sartell, MN United States  
works great

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
great for wine January 10, 2014
Reviewer: Kevin Grosskreutz from Appleton, WI United States  
Fairly standard 8 gallon fermenter and lid. Great price and good quality.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Works good December 28, 2013
Reviewer: Pete from Madison Area, WI  
It's a plastic bucket and holds your hooch. Only knock is the lid is not airtight. Fine for fermenting wine to a SG of 1.010 or so before transferring to secondary. I was hoping to have it be airtight like my 6.5 gallon bucket fermenter (Ale Pail) so I could leave a wine kit with grape pack in it to really get full extraction and use an airlock.

12/2013 update - finally figured out how to get this to seal. You have to press very hard and slowly work your way around. Once you figure out the trick it seals tight.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Awesome! March 22, 2013
Reviewer: Nathan Franzene from Appleton, WI United States  
Very High Quality Ingredients!!!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Love the larger capacity November 6, 2012
Reviewer: Dallas Becker from Aurora, CO United States  
My favorite fermenters have been my bottling buckets. I've had glass carboys and better bottles but these 8 gallon fermenters are by far my favorite even compared to 6.5 gal bucket fermenters.
The extra headspace has enough room to not worry about blowoff with a vigorous fermentation. I've had 5 gallon batches in my 6.5 gal fermenting bucket that have blown through the airlock and this won't happen with this bucket.
The only bummer with the extra headspace is the airlock doesn't bubble as vigorously as a smaller bucket but not worrying about blowoff through the airlock is a HUGE plus.

Was this review helpful to you?